mygorgeousboys

A blog recording our journey in parenting and family life

Timber festival 2018 @timber_festival #festival #familyfestival #weloveforests #outdoorfun

on 09/07/2018

Timber is a brand new festival, which took place in the National Forest in Derbyshire on July 6-8th. I won a family ticket with Forest Holidays and the sun was shining so we just couldn’t say no!

Campsite

We arrived Friday about 7pm – the campsite was just a 5 minute walk from the car park. Luckily it was downhill.

There were proper loos and clean showers – woohoo!!

It was really more like a cool campsite than a festival campsite!

What else did we love?

The giant moon….

The vibe…

There was a really chilled out, relaxed feel to the whole weekend. As the site was fairly small in size you could wander and amble along and just see what was happening. We didn’t get a programme so there was no rush to see anything.

Activities…

The boys had fun challenging themselves on the climbing wall.

Swinging in the trees….

This is a Skypod – a bed that hangs in the trees! It was actually someone’s bed that they let us have a go in. It was pretty close to the ground but could be hoisted up to swing high in the trees. I want one!

Food…

The food available was incredible but I don’t seem to have any photos of it – I guess because it was eaten so quickly! There were good choices and quality and I loved how everything had been considered with sustainability in mind with no plastic packaging where it could be avoided.

Music and stories around the campfire…

On Saturday night we had a lovely evening chilling out around the campfire.

Forest education…

I had heard about the book Lost Words before because I had used in in a Forest Schools supply teaching assignment I had been on. Here poems and images from the book were integrated into the forest environment. I also caught the author speaking in one of the tents which was interesting. I do love the magpie image – this was one the kids in my class had a go at recreating.

Lots of other things we loved include the human beat box guy (A-Mazing!), rolling down the hill and I joined Greenpeace! There were also wood fired hot tubs which I definitely want to try next year!

Tickets for Timber 2019 are now available at the super early bird price. Don’t miss out it was a brilliant festival for all the family!

 

Check our Wanderustfamily’s blog post all about Timber festival. So pleased to hear they also had a brilliant time!


Leave a comment