mygorgeousboys

A blog recording our journey in parenting and family life

Travelling back in time @sponzfest #calitri #history #train

on 29/08/2016

As part of the Sponz festival taking place in Calitri and surrounding area this week, we went back in time to experience a historic train journey.

I have to be totally honest here and say that as I don’t speak Italian I don’t really know the whole story behind the train but surfing to say the carriages are from the 1920s, 30s and 50s and the Diesel engine that pulled them was from the 1960s.

The train line was closed in 2010 and has recently been renovated and so this was to celebrate the reopening of the historic line.

Here we are waiting for the train to arrive in Calitri…

The train arrives!

We journey through stunning, lush green scenery….

We arrive in Rocchetta San Antonio!


There actually wasn’t much to do on arrival but we could admire the historic fixtures and imagine what life would have been like back when the train was in regular use.


We had an ice cream and headed back to Calitri..


It was a fun afternoon and we really enjoyed the experience!

I will find out more about the history of the train!


3 responses to “Travelling back in time @sponzfest #calitri #history #train

  1. Granny says:

    The train was full to overflowing and everyone in happy spirits and the boys loved to look out of the windows and see the changing landscapes and experience the dark tunnels. It brought back memories to me of my childhood and travelling on trains to visit relatives in Ireland. It was really good fun to spend time with my daughter and grandchildren and remember old times when I was with my parents and brother on our holidays.

  2. The train looks beautiful and what gorgeous views too!

  3. Louise says:

    I love a good train journey. It looked gorgeous x

Leave a comment