mygorgeousboys

A blog recording our journey in parenting and family life

Books, books, books and only getting chance to read when on holiday…

on 12/05/2014

20140511-203822.jpg

I have just finished reading “Trust your eyes”by Linwood Barclay. I have read a book by the same author before called “No Time for Goodbye”. Both books essentially are suspense thrillers with plenty of twists and turns to keep you hooked and guessing till the last line. This doesn’t disappoint and I read it in a weekend!

I would definitely recommend this as a holiday read especially if you enjoy reading this genre.

This book has lots of sub plots going on to really keep you gripped – power, infidelity, mental health and of course plenty of murder!

I have realised that I only get chance to read when I am on holiday, basically away from everyday life and chores. I can’t blame it on simply being a mum. They played in the park and I read, they were in bed and I read, they watched a film and I read. Everyone was happy!

When I was in Italy last summer I read eight books in three weeks. Then I had the helping hands of my mum and dad and they largely shopped, cooked and washed for us!

I have nearly finished reading “The Flavour of Love” by Dorothy Koomson which is taking me much longer. It is a slower book although it has lots of surprises and suspense.

 

20140511-203754.jpg

These books are all from the library which makes a change from the kindle and it is good to read a proper book again. I am hoping to start going to crime cafe at our local library again, I didn’t really go once I started using the kindle but they have had some interesting guests there such as detectives and crime writers. It is a group of, let’s be honest here, more mature people who seem to read a book in a day but is is good to hear what they like and don’t like.

 

What are you reading? Any summer recommendations?

 


41 responses to “Books, books, books and only getting chance to read when on holiday…

  1. lizzer says:

    agreed! I think I’ve read about 3 books since children came along.

  2. Amy Squires says:

    I love reading however since starting my degree I never get time to head to the library and just grab a few. The group sounds good though!

    • Louise says:

      Yes it is good and I feel like a spring chicken as I am at least 20-30 years younger than the rest of the group 🙂

  3. I love reading and usually go through several books a week. Helps coping with the insomnia! I think I will give this one a try actually, sounds good.

  4. Lisa H says:

    I have lately become a young adult fiction lover, at my ripe old age of 30, but I love them! This first book you mention sounds good though.

    • Louise says:

      I haven’t tried these kinds of books, should take a look as I have heard good things!x

  5. I love thrillers. I have just finnished the first 15 lifes of Harry August (under £3 on kindle) and loved it

  6. Debbie says:

    Thank you soooo much for this post!!
    I had all but stopped reading, and picked up a book for the first time at the weekend- to find a bought it a year ago.
    I loved No Time for Goodbye, and am usually pre-ordering Dorothy Koomson books- I consider myself slapped back into reading again- I miss it so much!

    • Louise says:

      Go for it! I am sure you will soon get into it again and be hooked. I loved No Time for Goodbye and this is similarly tense! Enjoy:)

  7. i like reading books, but dont always have time for it, i would say i like romance, comedy and thriller as well

  8. I have actually missed reading lately, i got my tablet reppaired and my sons stoleit for games so i still havent had a chance to read the books i bought x

  9. Sonya Cisco says:

    Ooh I love both those authors! I have spells where I manage to read loads, then months where I dont seem to find time to pick a book up at all!

  10. I read all the time since I got my Kindle as I just keep it in my bag – So many free books to choose from too x x

    • Louise says:

      Yes and it is a great way to discover new authors. When I read proper books (usually from the library) I tend to stick to authors I know though. x

  11. I am so uncultured in my reading habits. I love chick lit and don’t read anything else x

  12. Michelle says:

    Whenever I read book reviews I am always reminded how little I read these days. Should start doing it again like I used to! It was so much easier to find the time when I would commute to work!

  13. Keri-Anne says:

    I love reading. My favourites are books by Francesca Lia Block x

  14. Mummy of Two says:

    Holidays are great for catching up on reading aren’t they. I very rarely have the time or energy any other time!

    • Louise says:

      Exactly, your mind is always busy thinking about life but on holiday you can switch off a bit. x

  15. Polly says:

    i’ve read a few dorothy koomson books but not that one!

    • Louise says:

      I think it is fairly new. It was good but did drag and little and the ending was fairly predictable.

  16. Globalmouse says:

    I love reading so much but for some reason I just go through bursts of reading – one minute lots and the next nothing. I am getting ready for another burst though…I really miss it!

  17. It’s really tricky finding time to read – you’re not alone there! But it’s great that you’re getting back in the habit, setting a good example to other lapsed readers like me!

  18. I love suspense thriller books so will make a note of that author. My favourites have to be Michael Connelly and Lee Child x

  19. I love reading but rarely get time to read these days.Maybe I should add these to my reading list.

  20. Louisa says:

    I love to read, especially sci fi/ fantasy novels. I just can’t seem to find the time for it s much as I would like.

  21. Mammasaurus says:

    Ooo I haven’t read a proper book for a couple of years. Somehow writing that down feels a bit like a confessional!

  22. I’m exactly like you – love reading but I only read when we’re on holiday! I used to read a lot of crime books (mainly Aghata Christie with Hercules Poirot) so this book may be for me 🙂

  23. not my type of books, but good you enjoyed them! i love how vast the book world is, there’s always something for everyone.

  24. I have to be honest and say I don’t often reads books but on the rare occasions I do I really get into them and enjoy reading.

  25. Shell Louise says:

    I’m reading Jurassic Park. We’ve recently built bookcases for all the books that were stored in the loft in our old house and I didn’t know we had it. I loved the film and was curious as to what the book was like. It’s a bit slow at the start but I’m nearly to the part where they see the dinosaurs so I’m hoping it’s going to pick up a bit!
    I’ve just finished reading the Gone series by Michael Grant and really enjoyed it. So much so that I was quite upset when it came to an end! It’s a YA series and I bought it for my son but he hasn’t had chance to read them all yet because I jumped in first!

  26. Kara says:

    I used to love reading books but don’t get the chance these days sadly

  27. i always feel so guilty I’ve not read a book for ages! x

  28. Granny says:

    I can’t get to sleep unless I read!

Leave a comment