mygorgeousboys

A blog recording our journey in parenting and family life

My Favourite Childhood Toy!

on 14/04/2012

This post is inspired by a meme over on A Mummy Too’s blog, giving me the opportunity to show off my favorite childhood toy!

Well, I do still have a childhood toy. One, in fact, that was given to me when I was a newborn many moons ago. It doesn’t actually have a name, or at least not a proper one. I have always just called it “Dolly”…

Here s/he is…

;20120414-082920.jpg

As you can see – well loved eh!

I wouldn’t say this doll has been with me everywhere but I have always known it was hanging around at my parent’s home. When I had children of my own “Dolly” ended up moving back in and is now one of a contingent of toys that my boys play with.

In fact, my youngest calls it “Igglepiggle” which I guess it does look a little bit like 🙂

If you would like to join in or see more favorite childhood toys click on the button below!

My favourite childhood toy

5 responses to “My Favourite Childhood Toy!

  1. Erica Price says:

    I’m thinking Teletubbies rather than Night Garden. Great to see a toy that well loved.

  2. God, I thought I was the only person in the world to have one just like this (only completely red, no white). My mother knitted it for me, added the freaky face abd everything when I was very tiny. As far back as late 60s I would guess. Spooky then and spooky now!!! (I wrote this post a while back and I didn’t include his pic incase I freaked anyone out!!!)
    http://saveeverystep.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/cuddly-companions-of-yesteryear-lifes-a-journey-series-week-12/

    • So spooky aren’t they! Wierd plastic face to boot. Yes I was born in 1971 so same era 🙂 I think I’ve got used to it again so forgot how freaky it looks to a stranger. I wonder if someone made this one as it kind of looks handmade though not knitted. Must ask my mum! Like you say I know noone else who admits to having one though 🙂

  3. That is quite a scary looking toy. Does look like something from the telly tubbies. Little A calls all her dollies ‘Dolly’ too!

Leave a comment